My Very First Quilt

Having reached an age where everyone I know is getting married and starting to think about babies, I am excited about the prospect of all the homemade gifts I can make. With a new arrival expected at the beginning of April, I have decided that my sewing project for this month will be a quilted baby blanket. Unfortunately, said bundle of joy is of unknown gender so when picking the fabrics, I was very conscious of avoiding anything pink or blue, featuring flowers or cars or trains or frills. I also wanted something that looked coordinated but not monochrome. After much deliberation in my local branch of fabricland, I chose three cotton fabrics purchasing a quarter meter of each.

My favourite is this gorgeous elephant print:

20140218_144010

I love the fact that it is whisical yet still quite geometric in design. I loved this so much that I ended up building up my fabric selection around it. To accompany this I chose a larger scale bird print and a turqoise geometric design.

20140218_144046   20140218_143959

The turquoise of the geometric design really brings out the pattern in the bird print and both work well with the neutral design and palette of the gorgeous little elephants. Now all I have to do is do these lovely fabrics justice as I sew them together………Watch this space.

One thought on “My Very First Quilt”

Leave a comment