Toffee Oat Cookies

These cookies have caused me no end of difficulties over the last week for a number of different reasons. The first issue was the toffee chunks. I wanted to make my own toffee chunks for the cookies because the ready made ones were ridiculously overpriced in my view and its always good to add a new skill to your arsenal. I didn’t spend much time researching recipes (costly decision) and I went ahead with the second one I found as it seemed straightforward and simple. Combine half a cup of butter with half a cup of sugar with 2 tbsp water and a pinch of salt in a pan and then heat to 300 ° F before pouring onto a silicon mat and cooling. I tried this twice with baking fat (margarine) and both time I ended up with a mess of separated oil and hard caramel. I thought this might be the use of margarine so I tried again with butter but the same thing happened. I did take a couple of mixtures of the result but it looked so gross I decided not to upload them.

Back to the internet and I found that most of the recipes recommended four times as much sugar to fat ratio. The next attempt worked perfectly with 100 g granulated sugar, 10 g butter 2 tbsp water and 2 tbsp milk. Combine and heat to 280 ° F before pouring onto a silicon mate and leaving to cool. This give a fantastically flavoured brittle hard toffee which can easily be broken into pieces and stored in an airtight container.

wpid-20141021_083648.jpg

Having conquered the toffee, I went on to the cookies. I love oat cookies and have a tried and tested mixture that I use for oat and raisin cookies. This dough is the same with the toffee chunks used to replace the raisins.

Ingredients
100 g plain flour
100 g porridge oats
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
100 g light brown sugar
50 g granulated sugar
50 g butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 large handful toffee bits

Preheat the oven to 190 ° C

Combine the flour, oats, baking powder and salt in a bowl and mix together with a whisk. Cream together the sugar and butter until light and fluffy and then beat in the egg. Add the dry ingredients and combine thoroughly before folding in the toffee bits. Place walnut sized balls of the cookie mixture on a lined baking sheet with large gaps between them and flatten slightly. Bake the cookies for 9-11 mins until lightly golden. Allow to cool slightly on the baking sheet and then transfer to a wire rack to cook completely.

wpid-20141019_140508.jpg

These cookies have a wonderful buttery caramel flavour and make a perfect treat with a cup of tea. These are incredibly moreish and the two dozen this recipe makes will not last long.

wpid-20141019_140418.jpg

1 thought on “Toffee Oat Cookies”

Leave a Reply

