Hazelnut and Chocolate Chip Biscotti

A slightly (but hopefully not too) late post for yesterday. This weekend I had my first attempt at biscotti. I love these little coffee accompaniments. The sweet nuttiness goes so well with the bitter dark taste of freshly brewed black coffee. Plus, on saturday kitchen this week, James Martin made biscotti which means that this weekend, I must make biscotti.

As a first attempt at biscotti, I wanted to keep it simple and add only a couple of additional ingredients. I scouted around the internet and the classic combination of chocolate and hazelnut caught my eye (and taste buds). These beauties here look especially fantastic. Oh and these. There are so many fantastic recipes it’s hard to choose. However, getting my sensible hat on, I decided not to put cocoa into the biscuit mix. It may sound ridiculous but I sometime find it hard to judge the “golden brown” stage of unfamiliar recipes that have cocoa in them.

So……here we have Hazelnut and Chocolate Chip Biscotti

INGREDIENTS

2 eggs

100 g caster sugar

250 g plain flour

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

25 g hazelnuts

50 g dark chocolate

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

1. Whisk together the sugar and the eggs until light and fluffy. (I would definitely recommend an electric whisk for this. Normally I use a low-tech balloon whisk but this defeated me)

2. Sift the flow and bicarbonate of soda into a separate bowl. Roughly chop the hazelnuts and chocolate and add them to the flour

3. Add the vanilla essence to the eggs and then fold in the dry ingredients a little at a time. (I also added some pistachio essence at this point because I can’t get enough of that flavour at the moment)

4. Once your ingredients are combined into a dough, turn the dough onto a floured surface. Shape into a sausage about 35-30cm long and then press until it is around 2-3 cm high.

5. Bake at 180 degrees C for 30 mins until golden brown the remove from the oven and reduce the temperature to 140 degrees C

6. Slice the sausage into 1.5 cm slices and lay these out on a baking tray cut side up and return to the oven for 20 mins

wpid-20140706_201648.jpg

NOTE The biscotti pictured here had only half the amount of chocolate in the recipe but I increased the suggested quantity because they could do with a boost

1 thought on “Hazelnut and Chocolate Chip Biscotti”

Leave a Reply

